Momentum Cup action at the REC on Sunday

The Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn will be the venue for the Cobras opening fixture for their Momentum One Day Cup campaign for the 2019/20 season when they take on the Warriors. 

An extra bonus or the host, SWD Cricket, is that the match will be broadcasted live on Supersport 2.  We really hope to attract a capacity crowd on Sunday says SWD Cricket Chief Executive Officer, Albertus Kennedy.  “We really hope that the profile of the players will encourage cricket fans to make their way to the ground”.  Good recent rain was vital to improve the quality of the outfield which suffers from one of the worst droughts that were experienced in the Klein Karoo.

Ashwell Prince. (Photo by Grant Pitcher/Gallo Images)

The Cobras who were victorious in both their previous one-day outings at the REC (beat the Warriors by 78 runs in December 2017) and defeating the Lions by 21 runs in February 2019.

Ashwell Prince and his men are keen to get their campaign off to a bright start as they will be able to field several international players include the likes of Zubair Hamza, Pieter Malan and Dane Paterson who represented the Proteas in the recent test series against England.  Another key player for the Newlands based team will be George Linde who always performs at the REC Ground. 

The Warriors, who are coached by Ashwell Prince’s ex-Proteas team-mate Robin Pietersen enjoy playing in Oudtshoorn.  Former SWD bowling hero, Glenton Stuurman, who was included in the Warriors squad will make a return to his home ground.   Another former SWD player, Hanno Kotze, is included in the Cobras squad.

Tickets for the match are on sale at the SWD Cricket offices at the REC Ground in Oudtshoorn and on match day at the gates.  Extra parking will be available at the area next to the Municipal offices on the eastern side of the REC Ground.  The area at Vrede Street towards to southern end of the ground will be closed for the day due to the television broadcast.

The teams are:

Cobras:  Pieter Malan, Zubayer Hamza, David Beddingham, Jason Smith, Aviwe Mgijima, George Linde, Dane Piedt, Rory Kleinveldt, Dane Paterson, Nandré Burger, Thando Ntini, Hanno Kotze, and Mihlali Mpongwana

Warriors:  Gihaan Cloete, Matthew Breetzke, Sinethemba Qeshile, Mohamed Vallie, Rudi Second, Marco Marais, Onke Nyaku, Aya Gqamane, Andrew Birch, Glenton Stuurman, Dyllan Matthews, Lesiba Ngoepe and Sthembile Langa

Glenton Stuurman of SWD during the 2016 Africa T20 Cup, Pool B match between South Western Districts and Northerns at Recreation Ground on September 18, 2016 in Oudtshoorn, South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images)

Share Button