Glenwood House second at South African High School Championship

RUSTENBURG, 3 August 2017 – Curro Aurora set the first round pace in the South African High School Championship on Thursday, but Glenwood House and Grey College Secondary are in close pursuit at Rustenburg Golf Club.

Woo Ju Son, Kieron van Wyk and Cole Stevens from Curro Aurora; credit Shaun Roy / Image SA

Woo-Ju Son – a seven-time winner on the women’s senior and junior circuit this season – anchored the team with a three-under-par 69. Her effort was well supported by GolfRSA National Squad duo Kieron van Wyk and Cole Stevens, who carded respective rounds of 71 and 73 to move Curro Aurora into the top spot with a total of 213.

However, the former Ernie Els Primary School Championship winners will have to pull out all the stops if they hope to secure the seventh SA High School Championship title on Friday.

Glenwood House, led by James Murray, lurks just a stroke off the pace, while one of South Africa’s top junior performers this season – Wilco Nienaber – blistered the par-72 layout in 65 strokes to help Grey College Secondary within striking distance of the lead.

Murray carded a 70, while Bradley de Beer and Jean Pierre van der Watt added rounds of 72 for an opening total of 214, while AJ Bezuidenhout contributed a 72 and Neil Delport returned an 80 to secure third for Grey College Secondary at 218.

Curro Durbanville is fourth on 224, while Barend van Zyl (72), Ray Janse van Rensburg (73) and Hendrik Naude (80) from Rustenburg High School combined for 225 to move into fifth.

The reigning Curro SA Juniors International Boys and Girls champions – Nienaber and Son – also dominate the Individual Leaderboard.

Nienaber finished four shots clear of Son and leads by five from Murray and Stals Swart from the Afrikaans Hoerskool vir Seuns. Daniel Cronje from Paarl Boys High shares fifth with Van Wyk, while eight players share seventh at even-par 72.

213 Curro Aurora
214 Glenwood House
218 Grey College Secondary
224 Curro Durbanville
225 Hoerskool Rustenburg
227 GED Academy
228 Afrikaans Hoerskool vir Seuns
228 TuksSport High School
229 Paarl Boys High
229 Woodlands College
230 De Villiers Graaf High School
233 Daniel Pienaar Tegniese Hoerskool
235 Paul Roos Gymnasium
240 Klerksdorp Hoerskool
241 Hoer Tegniese Skool Middelburg
242 Curro Bankenveld
245 Piet Potgieter High School
249 Marais Viljoen Hoerskool
257 Hoerskool Duineveld
263 Framesby High School

65 Wilco Nienaber
69 Woo-Ju Son
70 James Murray; Stals Swart
71 Daniel Cronje; Kieron van Wyk
72 Bradley de Beer; Liam van Deventer; Andre van Dyk; Jean Pierre van der Watt; Alex van Wyk; Ayden Senger; Barend van Zyl; Nash de Klerk
73 Ray Janse van Rensburg; Cole Stevens; Samual Mckenzie; AJ Bezuidenhout
74 Nicholas Souranis; Matthew Mc Carthy

Share Button