NMMU victorious at USSA cricket week – photo

The NMMU Cricket Club in George made an impressive start in their campaign to promote cricket at the campus when the won the D-Section of the USASA B-tournament that was recently held at the campus of the Vaal University of Technology. NMMU George will be promoted to the C-section in 2012.

The NMMU George team that won the D-section at the recent USASA cricket week. Front Row: Brendon Louw, Patrick Hancock (Vice-Captain), Hugo Loubser (Manager), Lyndon Volkwyn (Captain), Amber Nel (Scorer). Back Row: Sean Smith, Anand Naik, Douw Schoonbee, Andrew Robertson, Dieter Loubser, Martin Slabber, Andrew Brooks, Arnold Eshmade, Devon King

The students from George, with SWD players Brendon Louw and Lyndon Volkwyn in their midst, were unbeaten in the tournament. One match was abandoned due to bad weather.

The summarised score sheets are:

Day 1: NMMU George vs.Universityof Limpopo MEDUNSA

University of Limpopo MEDUNSA 62 (all out) Arnold Eshmade 4-19, Patrick Hancock 2-11

NMMU 63/0Arnold Eshmade 34* Sean Smith 23*

NMMU won by 10 wickets

Man of the match was Arnold Eshmade for his 4-19 and 34 not out

Day 2: NMMU George vs. Fort Hare B

NMMU George won the toss and elected to bat

NMMU George 341-9 Patrick Hancock (145 off 96 balls), Brandon Louw (51 off 56 balls)

FORT HARE 110 (all out) Martin Slabbert 4-43, Andrew Brooks 2-23

NMMU George won by 231 runs

Man of the match was Patrick Hancock for his batting performance, 145

Day 3:NMMU George vs. Vaal University of Technology invitation (VUT)

NMMU George 326 Sean Smith (109 off 77 balls), Dieter Loubser (52 off 41 balls) Douw Schoonbee (42 off 52 balls)

VUT Invitation 102 (all out) Arnold Eshmade 4-44, Martin Slabber 3-20

NMMU George won by 224 runs

Man of the match was Sean Smith who scored his 1st 100 for NMMU George

Day 4: NMMU George vs.UniversityofZululand

Zululand220 (all out) Brendon Louw 5-14

The match was abandoned due to rain

Day 5: NMMU George vs. NWU Invitation

NWU Invitation 83-6 (match reduced to 27 overs per batting team due to rain) Arnold Eshmade 2-12

NMMU 87/0 Arnold Eshmade (46 not out off 33 balls) Sean Smith (35 not out off 37 balls)

NMMU George won by 10 wickets

Man of the match were Arnold Eshmade for his 2-12 and 46 not out

Sean Smith received the award for Batsman of the B–tournament. He scored 189 runs (from 162 balls), twice not out with a highest score of 109 at an average of 94.5

Rudi Claassen, President of the SWD Cricket Board, congratulated NMMU George on their success. Claassen said that the performance of NMMU George is a positive results for the efforts of various role players, including the SWD Cricket Board, to enhance the cricket structures and the campus. The campus will soon become a significant source of cricket talent in the province.

The SWD Cricket Board also supports cricket at the campus with a dedicated bursary scheme for talented players.

Share Button