George Golf Club news…

Greetings from Sandra and Jenny 

Entries for the St Patrick’s Day party were slow, which we believe was due the party being scheduled for a long weekend.

For this reason we’ve decided that the best course of action would be to postpone the event, as spending several thousand rand on a great DJ, as well as decorating the hall needs a full complement of guests being at the party!

We’d really love to throw you all another bash later in the year, please email me with any great party theme ideas that you’d like us to consider for our next event. 

A reminder to all our Members and Guests; please don’t forget to enter your scores timeously on the handicap system (either via the terminal at the club, on the website or by calling the club) to avoid the late entry score penalty being issued. Handicaps Network Africa has also requested that everyone should check their profiles on the system to make sure they have a valid ID number – or passport number for our Overseas Members. Click here to read the request.

Handicaps Network Africa have also announced the start of the Castle Light SAGA Handicap Competition, details are below or click here to view the PDF advert: 

The Mahindra Inter Club Challenge takes place on Thursday 24 March 2011 at Pinnacle Point and we would really like to enter a full team of 20 players. Please click here to view the details of the competition or send me an email to and book for the event.

Our thanks to Chris Mackay for sending us a little snippet from the George Golf Club AGM held in February 1931! Makes for some interesting reading! Click hereto read the paragraph on the suggestion for the club to acquire a ‘motor tractor’… 

Nomads captain Steve Twycross thanking Kobus Landman for the use of the course on Sunday 6 March 2011 

Collin Fose is awarded his 10 years of valuable service award at his farewell function at the club. Sandra, Koos and Kobus, plus the team of the George Golf Club say goodbye 

Annamie van Rensburg (A Div winner, 74 nett), Brenda Bennett (A Div runner up, 76 nett), Denise Danks (B Div winner, 72 nett), Steph Bennett (B Div runner up, 80 nett), Sheila Fraser (C Div winner, 74 nett), Daphne Hutchinson (C Div runner up, 75 nett). Ladies competition sponsored by Zenith Day Spa. 

Danie Groenewald wins the Lynn Schroeder BMW sponsored competition on Wednesday with 43 points

Share Button

Leave a Reply